Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Chen-ou Liu & Asni Amin: Wednesday Haiku, #158

Woodblock by Yoshitoshi

last cherry petals
drift to the ground
I miss myself
Chen-ou Liu

Woodblock by Torii Kotondo

the silence
of snowflakes falling …

Asni Amin

Art by Ohara Kuson

just when my house
has gotten used to deep snow...
spring blossoms

translated by David G. Lanoue


PS  Click to learn how to contribute to Wednesday Haiku

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Albert Huffstickler Poem in New Arianna Huffington Book

Anyone who reads this blog regularly or has been a subscriber to Lilliput Review from way back knows how much I love the work of Albert Huffstickler. A few months back I was contacted by a representative of Arianna Huffington about reprinting a poem by Huff that I had published in Lilliput Review #117 and, subsequently, in a blog post (scroll to end) for Lilliput's previous blog, Beneath Cherry Blossoms, where Ms. Huffington evidently encountered the poem. 

I, of course, had no objections, but needed to help find out who held the rights to the poem in the Huffstickler family. After a number of contacts, I was able to direct Ms. Huffington's representative to a member of the family who was able to grant permission. 

This is quite a journey by this brief, powerful poem by a small press poet who touched so many souls while he was alive and the decade plus since he's death. I don't know the print run for Thrive, but its a New York Times Bestseller, so 6 figures is not out of the question, possibly more considering the Internet dominance of her site, The Huffington Post.

And then, there is that poem that touched her like so many have been touched by Huff's work:

We forget we're
mostly water
till the rain falls
and every atom
in our body
starts to go home.
    Albert Huffstickler

I'm not sure what Huff would make of all this but I'm betting that he'd think, well, if a hundred thousand or so people read this one poem and if a it grabs a handful, I've done my job well.

Huff, 13 years after you've gone and you've still got it. Now that would bring a quick smile before returning to the next cup of coffee, the next cigarette, and the next blank sheet of paper beckoning for your whole heart and soul.

Thanks again, Huff. And thanks to Arianna Huffington, for passing a gift on to so many who would otherwise not known.


a day for wandering
a day for haiku...
spring rain

translated by David G. Lanoue

Wonderful video on Huff by Matthew Listiak


PS If anyone would like a copy of Lilliput Review #117 with the Huff poem, drop me a line. It's still available.  

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Chen-ou Liu & H. Edgar Hix: Wednesday Haiku, #157

Photo by Jessamyn

sonogram heartbeat …
frost flowers
blooming on the window
Chen-ou Liu

Photo by Monteregina

Blank canvas
already painted.
H. Edgar Hix

 Art by Hokkei

the pheasant's cry sounds
spring begins

translated by David G. Lanoue


PS  Click to learn how to contribute to Wednesday Haiku

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Ed Baker: Saturday Serenade

this old fool
here 73 years
sipping ginseng tea
Ed Baker

Geisha with Doll by Hososda Eishi 

even in the mountain hut
rice cake for a doll
translated by David G. Lanoue

Happy Birthday, Ed ...


Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Mary Frederick Ahearn & Walt Mehring: Wednesday Haiku, #156

Photo by Iprozac

  days you believe
  days you can't
a trick of the light

Mary Frederick Ahearn

Photo by Denis Collette

Snow flakes
flying past headlights -
only whispers

Walt Mehring

Photo by Kthypryn

just a smidgen of light
from the snow...
latrine alley 

translated by David G. Lanoue


Sunday, April 13, 2014

William Stafford: A Sunday Serenade

The Swallows by Felix Bracquemond 

The Well Rising

    The well rising without sound,
    the spring on a hillside,
    the plowshare through deep ground
    everywhere in the field-

    The sharp swallows in their swerve
    flaring and hesitating
    hunting for the final curve
    coming closer and closer-

    The swallow heart from wing beat to wing beat
    counseling decision, decision;
    thunderous examples. I place my feet
    with care in such a world.

                    William Stafford

I've been trying to write a swallow poem for the better part of my life. I ran across this the other day and thought, well, there it is. Not by me, but there it is.

Beautiful poem by the beautiful William Stafford.


It is with great sadness I note the passing of one of the greatest singer/songwriters of his generation: Jesse Winchester. He came into the public eye when he emigrated to Canada to avoid the draft and his first self-titled album was produced by the Band's Robbie Robertson (and the Band plays on two cuts). 

Give a listen to his little known masterpiece, 3rd Down, 110 to Goonce you start, it's hard to stop. Rest in piece, friend.


Photo by Tom Soper

evening tide--
on the grass blade's tip
a red dragonfly

translated by David G. Lanoue


Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Poornima Laxmeshwar & Olivier Schopfer: Wednesday Haiku, #155

Photo by MJmerry

behind the train window
the moon
travels with us

    Olivier Schopfer

 Photo by tinali778

still pond -
the water holds lotuses
and the sun

Poornima Laxmeshwar

Photo by metimbers2000

in the beach breeze
my travels forgotten...
evening cool
translated by David G. Lanoue


Sunday, April 6, 2014

Madam Medusa: Issa's Sunday Service, #186

In case of wonky widget, click here

This week's selection, Madam Medusa by UB40, is a Sunday morning/afternoon stretch out your legs, space out your mind, little adventure in relax-to-the-max. Greek mythology gives us the lit connection for the week.

For those of a certain age, who got their Greek myth from Harryhausen before Hamilton, here's a little something to dust off a memory. For those raised in the digital age, here's some old school schooling:


the great demoness
flits and flutters...
paper fan
translated by David G. Lanoue


PS. Get 2 free issues. Get 2 more free issues. 

Send one haiku for the Wednesday Haiku feature. Here's how.

Go to the LitRock web site for a list of all 185 songs

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Sherryl Anders & Kirsten Cliff: Wednesday Haiku, #154

Photo by Alvimann

ugly kitchen clock
plastic hands circling
Sherryl Anders

the length of this sunset
Monday blues
Kirsten Cliff

shallow river--
on hands rinsing a kettle
spring moon
translated by David G. Lanoue


 Send one haiku for the Wednesday Haiku feature. Here's how.

  Go to the LitRock web site for a list of all 185 songs